jump to navigation

Update on Pipex Cock up August 1, 2006

Posted by Ray in Computers & Internet.
trackback

If you read my post the other day about Pipex you will know what I am talking about, if not I will explain again.  I migrated from Pipex broadband to bethere unlimited a few weeks ago. The migration went smoothly and the new service is good. What I didn’t expect was to be charged for broadband again by Pipex. Nevertheless I looked at my bank account to find that Pipex had indeed taken £33.99 from my account for invisible broadband. This is a new more profitable type of broadband that allows Pipex to make more profit.

The principle is simple. You allow your customers to migrate to a new service for broadband, and you promise a refund of any money owing. The next step is to not make any visible attempt to give the money back to the customer. To finish, you continue to charge your customers, who are not actually customers any more the full amount for monthly broadband while not actually providing a service. How’s that for a business strategy!

I emailed customer services and included a copy of the original email I received from them confirming migration away code and other details. The reply came back that they could not help me as they did not have any details of my account?

This prompted another email from myself with the said email attached again. I have not received a reply yet after a couple of days. I am not impressed with funds being removed from my bank account for nothing as I am sure you would be. I am going to wait and see if I actually receive a reply. If not it will be phone call time. The phone call is always the last resort because it is such a pain in the arse trying to reach someone who can help.

Let’s wait and see what develops. Hopefully someone from Pipex will read this and kick some ass.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

